Mother in Law’s Taboulé Recipe

One of the benefits of being married to someone with a different culture than yours is that, if you’re lucky, you get authentic, home cooked meals that you wouldn’t normally have.  Mr. B is super lucky because I have a huge Mexican family as obsessed with food as I am (including a cute little grandma who just loves to feed us all). So when we visit LA, he gets home cooked birria, ceviche, etc etc. I’m lucky because his mother is also a great cook, and I get home cooked french food!

Of course, France has many immigrants and some of the foods they’ve brought with them have become staples in France. My husband’s grandparents were born in Algeria. My corner bakery has started carrying North African pastries, you will find merguez and couscous anywhere and everywhere, and you find taboulé (spelled in French) ready made in supermarkets and delis. It makes a perfect summer meal or side dish, is healthy and easy to make. I asked my mother in law for her recipe, and today I’ll pass it on.  Keep in mind that this is not like the Lebanese tabbouleh you might be used to (I was). It contains much more grain and less parsley. Still delicious!

sevilla

French Taboulé Recipe
serves 4

  • 175 g or 6 oz of bulgur or couscous
  • 2 medium sized tomatoes
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 banana pepper, or half of a bell pepper
  • 1 small, raw zucchini
  • 1/2 peeled cucumber
  • 2 handfuls of raisins (less or more, if you like – I like sweetness)
  • 100 g or 3 oz of mozzarella or feta (optional)
  • 1/2 bunch of parsley and mint, each (about 1/2 cup each, chopped)
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • splash of olive oil
  1. First cook couscous or bulgur according to instructions and leave to cool for at least 45 minutes. I try to fluff out as much heat as I can then stick it in the fridge.
  2. Chop tomato, pepper, zucchini, cucumber, and onion into small cubes. Dice cheese into slightly larger cubes if using. Dice herbs.
  3. When your choice of couscous or bulgur is cool, mix everything together and add lemon juice and olive oil. Salt if desired.
  4. Leave to cool in the fridge a little longer or serve right away if you can’t wait! 😉

Note: I added equal parts parsley and mint, but next time I might add a bit more mint to the mix. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

