DIY: Three Ingredient Tinted Brow Wax

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but when I made this super easy brow wax the other day, I felt like I had to share. 😛

Groomed brows are my favorite feature to play up, and since I’ve started wearing less makeup, keeping the brows looking pretty is a must. They make such a big difference on a face! I recommend getting your brows done once in a while, to keep them looking clean, and then doing the touch ups yourself. I use tweezers underneath the brow, and I wax the upper part myself using those mini wax strips you can find in the drug store. Here in France you can find them at any supermarket. Then I shade the brows in using an angled brush. I’ve been using an old Revlon eyeshadow that matched my brow color pretty well, but I find that the wax helps keep the hairs in a nice shape. It also helps to keep the color on (even through sweaty gym sessions). Alternatively, if you prefer not to shade your brows, you can still make this wax without adding the color portion, and add it to  your brows to keep them looking groomed.

So, read ahead to find out how to make this (it takes less than 5 minutes)

IMG_8156
Bonus nail pic: Wet n Wild in Havasu Blue.

You will need:

  • An empty container for the wax. In France, you can find them at Aroma Zone, 3 10g pots for 80 cents! Or use whatever empty lip balm, etc container you have around.
  • A little bit of beeswax – 5g – about a tsp
  • An oil to mix in, I used argan, but jojoba or apricot kernel would work too – 5 g
  • An old eyeshadow that matches your brows

*I wasn’t really exact about the measurements when I was doing this, but  a 50/50 ratio works well

Now there are two ways to do this:

1. Melt the beeswax in the microwave inside your container, and when it’s completely melted, add argan and some eyeshadow. Add a little bit at first, and when it sets somewhat, test it out on your hand with your eyebrow brush. If it is not dark enough, re-melt the ingredients in your microwave, and add more shadow when it’s done.

2. If you are like me and don’t have a microwave at home, it’s still just as easy! Simply put some of the wax in a tablespoon and melt it over the stove’s flame. Come to think of it, you could even do this over a candle. Pour wax into your container and add oil. Add shadow and mix it up with a toothpick. Check tint and add more shadow if necessary (just scoop a little bit out and re-melt).

Et voilà! Homemade brow wax. Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

