Quick Easy Lunch: Warm Lentil and Beetroot Salad

I don’t know about most of you reading this, but as much as I love to cook, cooking for one is not always my favorite thing. For me, one of the best parts about cooking doesn’t have to do with the time spent in the kitchen or shopping for ingredients. It’s true, mixing up flavors and trying out new ingredients is both exciting and delicious – but my favorite thing about cooking is preparing a meal to share with others. Since living with Mr. B, I’ve got it great. He’s got a healthy appetite, loves just about everything, and he does the dishes. 😉

Before this, whenever I’d lived by myself, I would resort to cooking something gigantic and eating it for a few days. One of my main staples was lentil soup. It’s healthy, cheap, and tasty. Today, when preparing lunch, I looked over at my old friend, the little sack of lentils I had sitting on the kitchen shelf. So tiny and pretty! What we call “French lentils” in the US, are just called “lentils” here; imagine that! They are dark green in color and tend to hold their shape better than the brown lentils which are more common at home. Perfect for salads. I decided to cook some up to have as a side for any dinners this week, and for lunch today. They’re great to have around.

So today, I’m sharing a warm salad I made with them.

Warm Lentil and Beetroot Salad

Lentil and Beetroot Salad

  • 1 cooked beet, diced into small cubes
  • 350g lentils
  • bouillon cube
  • bay leaf
  • a few sprigs of parsley
  • your favorite vinaigrette (I like the balsamic kind)

for the lentils: 

  1. Prepare lentils according to package instructions. I cooked 350g with 1 beef bouillon cube and a bay leaf in the pressure cooker for 25 minutes. That is about 12 oz of lentils.

to assemble the salad:

  1. Dice cooked into small cubes and add lentils. For one beet, I added about 150g (3/4 cup) of warm, cooked lentils on top.
  2. Chop (or use scissors like I do) parsley over the salad. I used about 3 sprigs.
  3. Drizzle with vinaigrette to taste. Add a sprinkle of grated cheese if you like.

And there you have it. A healthy, filling salad. Hope this make someone’s lunch time a little easier this week. ❤

2 thoughts on “Quick Easy Lunch: Warm Lentil and Beetroot Salad

Leave a Reply

