Carrot Cake Recipe (or, how I tried to be healthy and ended up making a cake)

Moving away from California, one of the things I most missed about home was our juicer. I love fruit and veggie juices. Carrot/orange is my favorite, but I love mixing in a bit of beet – if only for the color. This Christmas, Mr Bear surprised me and got me a big juicer! Hurray!!

I finally got to try it out a few days ago. I decided that juicing would be a nice way to start the day, especially after all the eating we’d done for Christmas. I threw in  some apples and carrots and out came our delicious juice. “GREAT”, I thought, “we are so healthy. Look at us, we might even go for a run later” (we did)!

And then…I looked at all the delicious carrot and apple pulp left in the juicer. Hmm…. -_- Just waste it? Well I’m not going to eat the pulp on its own…maybe in a little carrot cake? Again, just like Endives au Jambon, this is pretty much health food. 😉 You’re eating a vegetable cake. It should count as one serving of veggies a day, as far as I’m concerned. 😛

If your New Year’s resolution is to eat more vegetables…then try this recipe out. 😉

Healthy *wink* Carrot Cake Recipe

2014-12-31 05.24.07

  • 165 g of carrot and apple pulp (mostly carrot with 2 apples thrown in to get this pulp)
  • 2 eggs
  • 150 ml canola oil (or other neutral oil)
  • 200 g white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 3 tbsp milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350F or 175 C.
  2. Beat together, eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla extract. Add in dry ingredients, and finally carrot and apple pulp. Pour into loaf pan.
  3. Bake for 35 – 45 minutes. Or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean.
  4. Mix powdered sugar with milk, adding milk in 1 tbsp at a time, add more sugar or milk until it gets to the consistency that you like. Spread on top of cooled cake and enjoy your healthy snack. 😉

*Notes: I added in the apple pulp because it was in my juicer, but I think it pairs really nicely with the cinnamon and in the future I will always add the apples.

2014-12-31 05.23.29
so moist 😀

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Recipe (or, how I tried to be healthy and ended up making a cake)

Leave a Reply

