A Bear-ey Merry Christmas

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas!
I missed all of my friends and family in the states,but Mr. Bear and I had a nice Christmas, just the two of us, here in France. I tried my hand at making tamales (on my own) for the first time ever. I made the fillings (chicken and veggie and chicken and salsa verde) on the 23rd, and thought, “Sorrryyyy, this was so easy. Tomorrow is going to be nothing.” Wrong. wrong wrong wrong wrong WRONG. Wrong wrong wrong.

I had to make the masa for the tamales by hand, and let me tell you. It was NOT easy. Apparently to be able to tell if the masa is ready, it’s supposed to float in a bowl of water? How many pinches of masa did I drop into water only to have it sink? LOTS. I finally gave up when I felt like it sank more slowly. Does anyone have any tips? To top it all off, I had Harry Potter playing on the TV, and the lowest point in my masa making coincided with Dobby’s death. -_-. Great.

IMG_6494
The day of. I hate you, masa

The tamales ended up being fine, but don’t expect a recipe from me! I kept adding and mixing things up, and giving up on measuring things that I wouldn’t even be able to say how I did it. Do yourself a favor if you live in LA and just buy them. Or have about 6 people helping you in an assembly line like my family does.

Why are you so small? I’ll eat you anyway.

Some of the tamales ended up being super tiny. Some of them ended up falling out of their little corn husk homes in the steamer. Oh well, you live you learn. I learned never to make my own masa again. 😛

Making tamales made me miss my family even more. The holiday season can be hard when you are away from family, and even though this year was better than last year, it’s the little things that make you miss home. But I guess it’s sort of a rite of passage to learn to cook the family recipes on your own. In the process, I made new memories here with Mr. Bear. Christmas was the first sunny day in I don’t know how long, so we took a walk to enjoy it. It was our first Christmas as a married couple. 🙂 I hope everyone’s Christmas was nice, with or away from family, or with new family.

xoxo

-Mrs B

Leave a Reply

