Bears in London – Eating ^_^

One of our primary motivations for traveling (heck, for doing anything!) is eating. And going back to places you’ve lived means visiting places you already know are worth it. And so going back to London, Mr Bear and I pretty much planned our free time around museums and meals. 😛

2013-02-25 20.14.16-1
Welcome to London!

Newman Arms

First up, for traditional english pies, topped with delicious puff pastry and served with steamed veggies, is Newman Arms in Fitzrovia. The building has been in place since 1730, and the family owned pub has been operational since 1860. George Orwell frequented the pub, and it is rumored that he based the prole pub in 1984 after the Newman Arms. It’s hard to decide what is better, the pies or the atmosphere. I’m tempted to call pies, because there are some creepy portraits of little children in the pie room. 😛 Anytime anyone goes to London, I tell them to come here. But remember it’s only open Monday through Friday. It’s got a lovely ambience, and walking around Fitzrovia is always nice – the architecture is beautiful.
Anyway, back to food! Mr Bear and I were not disappointed. I took a vegetarian pie (not a vegetarian, but this one is delicious) and Mr Bear ordered a chicken, gammon, and leek pie. They are not skimpy with the meat here either. 😀

IMG_1486
My veggie pie

I recommend making reservations for the evening.

Newman Arms
23 Rathbone St, London W1T 1NG

Shoryu Ramen

Being from LA, I’m very used to having lots of options for international food, and one of my favorites is ramen. Luckily London has become something of a popular place for ramen, so there are many places to choose from. One of my favorites is Tonkotsu on Dean Street, but this time we decided to try out Shoryu Ramen, because they have a curry ramen on the menu. 😉 Shoryu Ramen has a few locations around, and we chose the soho branch because of its proximity to the tube. Mr Bear and I went wth a friend, we ordered a curry ramen, regular tonkatsu, ,and a piri piri ramen.
The broth was warm and flavorful without being too fatty (I know some people prefer their tonkotsu very fatty, and if that’s the case, I’ve heard Bone Daddies at 31 Peter St, London W1F 0AR might be more your style.) I have to say that the piri piri ramen made me feel like I had a volcano in my belly for a sec, but I quickly got over it and the jalapeños gave the soup a nice, fresh heat.

the ramen
the ramen

Shoryu Ramen
3 Denman St, London W1D 7HA

Also try out Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, and the Blackfriar pub for historical, beautiful pubs, and Tonkotsu, Bone Daddies for Ramen. Happy Eating!

2 thoughts on “Bears in London – Eating ^_^

Leave a Reply

